The Purpose of this Blog

I like to help people find jobs. Why?
Perhaps in the past I would tell you it’s because I had difficulty finding one so I empathize with those who still do and I want to help them.
But over time, I realize that I develop another reason why I do this.

As I quote myself telling a friend, I want to reverse the power balance. I want to empower people who struggle to secure a job either because of poor job search skills, a lack of confidence or other reasons. In this world, the unemployed are look down upon, while those who have high paying or prominent jobs have status. The unemployed have less opportunities to learn new things and upgrade themselves, while the employed, though many don’t realise, have at their fingertips multiple opportunities daily to do so. The unemployed becomes depress from a lack of good things to do, the employed often get so stuck in the rut of working they no longer have the joy of when they first received their job.

I believe that working is more than earning. I believe in the sanctity of work and its ability to through suffering purify us. I believe that work is a gift. How can it be that by occupying my time doing something worthwhile puts money into my hand? Work is a gift. I hope to help people recognize it.

3 Comments

  1. lionheart said,

    July 22, 2013 at 11:51 am

    Thanks for starting this blog. I found myself looking for another job the second time in two years about two years ago. It became apparent to me that I had taken many things that come with a job for granted and suddenly I was standing on shifting sand. Fortunately I found another job after several months. by the end of that experience, I truly believe that it is possible for a person to become mentally unstable for lack of a job.

    So yes, Shu Yi, I agree that work is more than just earning a living. Having a job liberates us and gives us back our dignity. I used to think that work is suffering, but after that episode looking for a job, I’ve learn to appreciate my new job and my new employer more.

    • chuashuyi said,

      July 28, 2013 at 9:13 am

      Hi lionheart! 🙂 Same here! I agree very much with you how work can give us liberation and dignity. I had the same experience, when I finally found a job after a long search for it, I appreciated it more. I find it hard to complain about it. I just heard a testimony in church how an elderly woman was called by God to start a factory in Cambodia to give jobs to 25 people. And they told her the same thing that she helped them regain their dignity by providing them a job, when nobody else cared enough to.

      • August 1, 2013 at 3:42 am

        Dear Shuyi and Lionheart,

        I can identify with both of you how it feels when I have no jobs and the euphoria of finally being able to find a job. Yes, we much cherish our whatever opportunities given to us by God and work for His glory.

        Regards,
        Guo Xiong


Leave a Reply

