It’s fine to fail… :)

Made some wrong decisions?

I did. I quit my job when I couldn’t take the stress. I returned to it when I found that was no where else that had a place for me.

I went through many years of my educational life chasing after the good grades, thinking that when I graduate, I will automatically know what type of job I will have, by controlling the range of jobs and making it as wide as possible. Rather then take time to seriously learn from the many things school had to offer, I chose to focus on just getting the grades and bypassing many valuable opportunities of learning, failing, and learning to stand up again. I always picked the easier route.

I make mistakes in writing. I took very long to learn what academic integrity and honesty was. But now that I have found a bit of it, I hope to develop it further.

So it’s okay and normal to fail, in any area, in any way. In the words of John C. Maxwell, let’s fail forward. Don’t be disheartened, let’s learn from each opportunity and move forward. This failing is a lesson learned that is added unto you that nobody can steal, but that you can use to teach and encourage many.

2 Comments

  1. Han Guo Xiong said,

    November 17, 2013 at 2:31 pm

    Dear Shuyi,

    Thank you for your sharing. Throughout my undergraduate days, I was also obsessed with seeking good grades, but at the expense of other important things in life. Grades should never define a man, but who he or she really is in Christ is the thing that truly matters.

    Writing academic works is tough for me as well, given the demands for rigor and critical thinking, in addition to all those requirements for citation, structure, etc. I can only say that till this day, I am still humbled by God in many ways when it comes to academic writing. There is still a long road ahead for us all.

    I would like to encourage you to continue, by the grace of God, in your academic vocation and other aspects in life, for His glory.

    Yours Sincerely,

    Guo Xiong

  2. Li Wei said,

    February 2, 2014 at 3:53 pm

    Hello,

    I am currently a year 3 life science major in NUS. I have recently started regretting majoring in life science. Seeing that as you have graduated from life sciences, is it alright if I get some advice from you? May i correspond with you through email? Please contact me at a0083511@nus.edu.sg if you have the time. Thank you very much.


Leave a Reply

