Family business

I was with a friend shopping for lamps at Arab Street. We found out that the owner of the shop we were at were Afghanistanis from Pakistan and it was a family business of about 15 of them running about 9 shops. The man shared that they preferred to employ family members because they trust one another and family members can be counted upon to go the extra mile for one another, like staying back late after official opening hours.

I’m just thinking about it that that is actually a cool way of employing people. You employ someone who you know intimately and you can help him earn a living to support his family and even disciple him in the business. You don’t mind doing more for him because he’s family and he’s more likely to do more for you for the same reason.

5 Comments

  1. Michael Blakeway said,

    May 25, 2014 at 7:58 am

    Hi there, I have followed your blog with interest as I lived in Singapore from 1983-5 and in Malaysia for 20 years after that. I return annually to see friends in Singapore. I would be interested to hear your continuing story to find the job you so much desire. Good luck to you of course!

    • chuashuyi said,

      June 1, 2014 at 7:27 am

      Dear Michael, thanks for dropping by my blog and being interested to hear my continuing story on my career! I will update it soon, just for you, because you asked! 😉

  2. Michael Blakeway said,

    September 24, 2014 at 5:15 am

    Still awaiting your update. My main interest is whether an intelligent home grown Singaporean can find a full filing job in one of the worlds best economies. Your latest posts seem to indicate you are (forgive me) drifting and not making the progress you desire. You need a game plan to get to your destination.

    • chuashuyi said,

      September 24, 2014 at 9:21 am

      Dear Michael, thanks for taking an interest in my job search. Hmmmm… I actually really do enjoy the job I have now. I do find it fulfilling. But I dare not think too far in terms of progress, because I’m open to my direction being suddenly changed. I dream of doing a PHD because I really enjoy studying and learning. But I’m not sure what to study yet as I’m still exploring my areas of interest. So right now, my focus is to complete my Masters, be a good employee to my boss, increase the research skills that I have and any other growing up I need to do, grow up as much as possible. So I actually do not know my destination yet. What about you? May I know more about you? What do you do for a living? 🙂

  3. Michael Blakeway said,

    September 24, 2014 at 11:20 pm

    I’m now 62 and been retired for 8 years having been CEO of a small company (600 staff) in Penang Malaysia for 20 years. By profession I’m an engineer (manufacturing speciality) and I now live in South Australia (although I’m English) where I have a very small farm raising beef cattle. During my time in South East Asia I recruited many young people into a variety of jobs mainly in Malaysia but also in Singapore where we had a small company in Pandan Loop Jurong.
    My experience of recruitment has been to avoid those with too much academic study. A good first degree in a “hard” subject (ie engineering, maths, physics etc) was just a door opener to the interview. After that I looked for self starters, motivated individuals and people who could make a difference and execute change.
    I have always been very impressed by the work ethic and intelligence of the Chinese in Malaysia and Singapore and so was interested to read of your “difficulties” in getting the job of your dreams, however I do realise that with very significant immigration of skilled/professional people into Singapore it has become much more competitive than when I was there in the 1980s. At that point the difficulty was for my business to actually recruit good people as there were more jobs than applicants.
    You are coming up to 30 years old soon and need to be very well entrenched in a job that has good career prospects and a clear route for you to get where you want to go. My opinion is that extra qualification is uneccessary (unless you are in academia) and that hitting or exceeding targets, good team work ability and going the extra mile is what will produce results for you. Anyway just my opinion and hope this may be of some assistance to you.


Leave a Reply

