Career Update

It’s been four years since I got my first job. After working for 1 year, I quit, because I felt it was not what I wanted. It was too difficult for me. I wandered for another year hoping to upgrade myself through further studies or find an “easier” job, but lo and behold, an opportunity at my previous workplace came up again, because of the connection I had to my former boss, and so I grabbed that chance in a step of faith. (I was motivated to grab that chance because I learned that it was difficult to find a job in Singapore. And that the easiest way was to find one through connections.)

It was a step of faith, because I was returning to where I had left. Among the many things I had to lay down, one of them was my pride. I had to admit to myself and my former colleagues that I kind of made a wrong choice of leaving, there was awkwardness and embarrassment. Another thing I laid down was my interest. I decided to pursue a project that had nothing to do at all with my Life Sciences degree, I decided to pursue a more Artsy subject called Citizenship. I also laid down my hope for an “easier” job because the means through which I got the job was through my weakness. I got the job because my new boss was impressed by a presentation I did which showed very nice statistical findings. However, one of the reasons why I left my former job was that I did not like Statistics. Hence, I had to face my weakness again. And taking on this job, was a big step of faith for me.

But God has been gracious to me. I don’t know if you noticed, but I like writing. I’m not very good at it, but at least I enjoyย  it. ๐Ÿ™‚ Much more, than doing technical statistical analysis. I’m not a very “Number and Figures” person, but I prefer using “Words”. And while I struggled with the Statistics part and also the writing part and disappointed one of my boss, my other boss noticed that I could write.ย  ๐Ÿ™‚ And asked me to write more! ๐Ÿ˜€

The greatest lesson I learn from this job, which has now lasted me more than 2 years, is that, we shouldn’t quit when the going gets tough. When something is difficult, it does not necessarily mean it is not meant for us. But it could very well be that it’s a training ground where we can become better at something. I learned to persevere. I learned to accept scoldings, criticisms and feedback graciously and thankfully. And use them to become better.ย  I learned there is no shame in doing a bad job because I did not know the better way to do it. And I just had to embrace the lesson in each setback I faced.

I was also given a chance to pursue my Masters through this job. And I learned to break out of traditional boundaries of the 9 to 5 working hours. Being a “writer” was initially challenging to me because I found out that the writer was the “tool”. It meant that how I treated myself determined the work that I produced. If I treated to myself to a nap when I was sleepy, it resulted in much more productivity thereafter etc. If I took care of my soul and pray, I wrote much better than when I anxiously tried to work as much as I could on my own strength. These are things that we have to learn along the way.

I also discovered a new passion. That I really enjoy “career counseling”. I love to help others who are searching for jobs, to give them my perspective on their situations etc. I love to help people write better resumes. And to encourage those who feel hopeless. This blog has allowed some to cross paths with me. And I’m so grateful to God that I can use my experiences to help others. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

