Housekeeping

I’ve been doing a bit of tidying up during Christmas day and New Year day. Today, I started to put aside some of my church materials and University notes to be discarded. And it’s at this point in time that I realized, I am not going to be a:

  • Youth Worker or Church Staff
  • Sociologist or Historian
  • Biologist or Ecologist or Evolutionary Biologist or Naturalist
  • Urban Planner or Architect

I had kept the relevant notes from school, because I had harbored hope that if I had the knowledge in these fields, perhaps one day I could switch to one of these careers.

It is with some enlightenment and sigh of relief when I packed away these things, certain that these were not the paths for me.

Back then, I would have never guessed I would walk the path of an educational researcher. I would have never guessed I would be interested in Education.

I also noticed the common thread among those disciplines that caught my interest – what captured me was “structure”. The reason why I liked taxonomy, urban planning, and architecture was because I was fascinated by structure. I like things that had a fixed pattern to them. They were very beautiful to me.

*sigh* This year I’m going to be 30. And I guess, what I have helped myself to do this past 29 years was to eliminate those jobs mentioned above. I can be a hobbyist, to enjoy the fruits of those disciplines, but no, I will not pursue those as my career. Life has led me to be an educator, and though I scratch my head and wonder how can someone like me become an educator, I will embrace this path of life, until I receive further direction from above about where this path leads.

2 Comments

  1. Michael Blakeway said,

    March 8, 2016 at 12:13 pm

    1. Do not give up hope. 30 is still very young.
    2. Do not wait for any devine guidance………it doesn’t exist. We are responsible for our own actions. Decide where you wish to get to and make a plan of how you are going to get there. Then action that plan.

    • chuashuyi said,

      April 18, 2016 at 6:20 am

      Thanks Michael for your encouragement! 🙂


Leave a Reply

