A mundane life is a blessing

On my way to work, I will pass by this metal shed with graffiti sprayed on it: 平安是福, which is somewhat translated to “a mundane life is a blessing.” Alright, maybe some might translate it into a quiet and peaceful life instead. This wish for mundanity is something quite special to the Chinese culture that I noticed when I first arrived in Hong Kong. Besides hoping for wealth, it seems that the Chinese also value a quiet and peaceful life very much.

There is another commonly found phrase on doors and lifts: 出入平安, which translate to exit and enter with peace and safety or peacefully and safely. It almost feels like the Chinese think that a life where nothing much is happening, where things run normally as they should, no adrenaline rush, hustling and bustling, but just everyday ordinary happenings, is the blessed life. No additional excitement is needed, just life as usual.

I am learning to appreciate the beauty of this simple life. No need for big achievements, always striving for something out of reach, as if we need to constantly prove our worth to others, and to ourselves. No need to achieve any milestone by this or that age… But if you’re alive, breathing, have time to eat, sleep, rest, meet your friends, buy your things, have a job… It is enough. Nothing happening in your life? That’s already a perfect life.

I’m trying to look at my life in a new way. The opposite of a peaceful and safe life is one that is noisy, where you take much risks, and many things are happening, your emotions go on a rollercoaster ride… And maybe that kind of life feels exciting? But yes, I’m trying to look at my life in a new way. It is peaceful, quiet, safe. And maybe there’s nothing wrong with it, at all! No need to wish for something more.

Or should I? Am I too young to settle into this peacefulness?

Leave a comment